2020 Reads

How’s everyone holding up? Like most people it’s the end of week 1 of self-isolation/quarantine and I can’t lie – it’s been rough.

faint i cant GIF

I’m sure we all are working through our feelings of frustration, anxiety, sadness.

I hope you have found outlets that promote happiness and reassurance during this crazy time.

Like you, I’ve had a lot of time on my hands. One of the things that I’ve been doing is compiling a list of books that I’m most looking forward to reading this year. Some of the books are previous releases as well as ones that are set to be released later this year.

In this time of uncertainty I think one thing is guaranteed – BOOKS.

Here is my list in no particular order:

THE NOBLEMAN’S GUIDE TO SCANDAL AND SHIPWRECKS

0062916017
(SOURCE: chapters.indigo.ca)

I’m absolutely thrilled we get yet another book in the Montague siblings saga. I had no idea we were getting a second book with The Lady’s Guide To Petticoats And Piracy let alone a third! (well, 3.5 if you count The Gentleman’s Guide To Getting Lucky). It will be bittersweet to see it all come to an end but at least we have the TV adaptation to look forward to!

THE MADNESS BLOOMS

1250136164
(SOURCE: chapters.indigo.ca)

Another one from Mackenzi Lee! I’ve only ever read her Montague siblings books but I’m excited for this new adventure.

CHAIN OF GOLD (The Last Hours: Book One)

1481431870
(SOURCE: chapters.indigo.ca)

Yup…I’m still caught up in all things Shadowhunters. Though I didn’t enjoy The Infernal Devices trilogy as much as I thought I would I was absolutely OBSESSED with The Dark Artifices trilogy. I could not put those books down. That being said, I’m still cautiously optimistic about The Last Hours trilogy. No spin off will ever top the original Mortal Instruments series, but I can’t seem to tear myself away from this world or these characters.

KNOW MY NAME: A MEMOIR

073522370x
(SOURCE: chapters.indigo.ca)

I remember following this story in real time. I will never forget reading Chanel Miller’s (known then as Emily Doe) victim impact statement online. Calling her brave is an understatement. One of my friends received this memoir as a gift for Christmas last year and read me a paragraph from the book that she found particularly profound and it has stuck with me ever since.

THE STARLESS SEA

0385686226
(SOURCE: chapters.indigo.ca)

A year or two ago I asked a friend for some book recommendations. I was looking for something that would give me ~Fall Feels~ during the dog days of Summer. Without missing a beat she suggested The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. This book gave me all of the ~Fall Feels~ and more. I was sucked into this book in an instant. I have no doubt Erin Morgenstern will once again transport me away with her writing.

THE BALLAD OF SONGBIRDS AND SNAKES

1338635174
(SOURCE: chapters.indigo.ca)

🚨CONTROVERSIAL PICK ALERT🚨 Am I disappointed with the plot? YES. Am I too curious for my own good and need to read it anyway? ALSO YES.

 

Leave a comment